Whilst there are change management models (such as the ADKAR Model and Lewin’s Change Management Model) to help manage change for specific processes and initiatives, there are also business excellence models that assist with organisation-wide change management. These models help organisations to manage change holistically across multiple processes and systems, from leadership to strategy to delivering products and services. These models enable organisations to identify strengths and opportunities for improvement, with respect to business excellence principles. Assessments can be undertaken by organisations themselves (self-assessments) or by independent assessors (for instance, when organisations apply for a national or regional business excellence award). Assessment scores are on a 1,000-point scale. Organisations strive to improve their scores year on year by addressing their opportunities for improvement and learning from the best practices of high achievers.

The two best-known models are the EFQM Model and the Baldrige Excellence Framework.

The EFQM Model, see Figure 1, with its in-built RADAR (Results, Approach, Deployment, Assessment, and Refinement), supports changes not only to specific processes, but also organisation-wide through its model structure, based on the simple but powerful logic of asking three questions:

  • “Why” does this organisation exist? What purpose does it fulfil? Why this particular strategy? (Direction)
  • “How” does it intend to deliver on its purpose and its strategy? (Execution)
  • “What” has it actually achieved to date? What does it intend to achieve tomorrow? (Results)

Underneath these three main categories are more specific criteria to tease out an approach that will deliver strong stakeholder results.

Figure 1: The EFQM Model

The Baldrige Excellence Framework is more functionally orientated than the EFQM Model, see Figure 2, with six enabler categories and one results category. Approaches to assessment are similar, however, and organisations that score highly for Baldrige are also likely to score highly for the EFQM Model. There are many examples of organisations being recognised at the highest level for both models.

Like the EFQM’s RADAR, the Baldrige Excellence Framework has an in-built change management methodology (called ADLI), which considers how processes are managed in terms of Approach, Deployment, Learning, and Integration.

Figure 2: The Baldrige Excellence Framework

While the Baldrige and EFQM Models are the most popular business excellence models, with 60 of the 71 countries that have business excellence awards and initiatives promoting these models or their derivatives (23 Baldrige and 37 EFQM), some countries have developed their own models. As examples, two are shown in Figures 10 and 11: the Australian Business Excellence Framework and the Dubai Government Excellence Model. Although they have unique designs, at their core are the same business excellence principles and a comprehensive assessment approach similar to the Baldrige and EFQM Models.

Figure 3: Australian Business Excellence Framework Figure 4: Dubai Government Excellence Model
It is of some concern that the popularity of business excellence models such as the Baldrige and EFQM has been in decline over the past 10 years, as shown by the trend in the use of their respective search terms, see Figure 5. This mirrors the decline in the number of national/regional business excellence awards.

However, the custodians of these models are working to address this through initiatives such as model redesign, with a stronger emphasis on issues such as sustainability, cybersecurity, risk management, crisis management, and agility. Indeed, these models are as relevant for guiding organisations to sustainable success today as they have ever been. The challenge is how to raise the profile of business excellence so that more business managers, leaders, and governments advocate and use these models.

Figure 5: Google Trends Popularity comparison between the Baldrige Excellence Framework and the EFQM Model over the last 13 years (date of analysis: 26 October 2023).

The EFQM Model is the most popular model in terms of Google searches and the number of countries that have an award based on a particular model. Figure 6 shows whether the Baldrige or EFQM is more popular by country/region. The EFQM Model is most popular across Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and South America, while Baldrige is most popular in North America, Brazil, Asia, and Australasia.

Figure 6: Google Trends Popularity comparison between the Baldrige Excellence Framework and the EFQM Model by region over the last 13 years (date of analysis: 26 October 2023).

BPIR.com (the Best Practice Improvement Resource) supports business excellence and change management by enabling its members to search for best practices through the criteria of eight different business excellence models:

Organisations that have undertaken a business excellence assessment and identified opportunities for improvement can use BPIR.com to find best practices for the specific business excellence category and item that is of concern. For example, Figure 7 shows examples of best practices related to the EFQM Model for Category 2.3 – Enable Creativity and Innovation. Members can learn directly from the featured content or contact the organisations and individuals behind the best practice to gain a deeper knowledge of how to implement the best practice.

Figure 7: Shows examples of best practices related to the EFQM Model for Category 2.3 Enable Creativity and Innovation
(date of analysis: 26 October 2023).

You can obtain further information about the content featured in this blog by following the links to the BPIR.com website. Membership of BPIR.com is available at https://www.bpir.com/join-now/. This blog is part of a larger report entitled “Best Practice Brief, Issue 1: Change Management”, which is available from the member’s area of BPIR.com.

Receive Our Newsletter

Keep informed on best practice research and business improvement events from around
the globe - be the first to read our Best Practice Reports

Posted by:BPIR.com
Author:by Dr Robin Mann and Dr Almas Tazein, Centre for Organisational Excellence Research, New Zealand, November 6, 2023
Source :-
BPIR Category : 14.3.7 Manage transition to change
14.3.4 Conduct a business excellence assessment.
Latest News Categories: Change Management, Latest News